The Crawford Award

So I’m sitting there at Starbucks this afternoon, trying to punch out a few more sentences on the laptop, when my cell phone rings, and it’s critic and Locus columnist Gary K. Wolfe calling to BLOW MY MIND.

Here’s the gist of what he had to say, as expressed in this press release which just went out:

The winner of the 2009 Crawford Award, for an outstanding new fantasy writer whose first book was published in 2008, is Daryl Gregory, for Pandemonium (Del Rey).  The other authors on this year’s shortlist were Doug Dorst, Alive in Necropolis (Riverhead); David Schwartz,  Superpowers (Three Rivers); Felix Gilman, Thunderer (Bantam Spectra); and J.M. McDermott, Last Dragon (Wizards of the Coast).  Although technically published in late December 2007, the Gilman novel was deemed eligible for consideration because it appeared too late for consideration in 2008.

Sponsored by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts and administered by Gary K. Wolfe, the Crawford Award is now in its 25th year.  Past winners include Charles de Lint (1985), Greer Gilman (1992), Susan Palwick (1993), Jonathan Lethem (1995), Candas Jane Dorsey (1997), Kij Johnson (2001), Alexander Irvine (2003), Joe Hill (2006), M. Rickert (2007), and Christopher Barzak (2008).  This year’s panel of nominators included Graham Sleight, Paul Witcover, Farah Mendlesohn, Niall Harrison, Cheryl Morgan, and Kelly Link.  The award will be presented at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, March 18-22, in Orlando, Florida.  Details of the conference are at

I’m incredibly honored to be among this year’s nominees. And to be in the same list as the  previous winners? Well, I don’t even know how to process that information yet. I’ll have to get back to you.

One thing’s for sure: I can’t wait to go to Florida in a few months. It’s FREEZING here.


15 thoughts on “The Crawford Award

  1. My google alerts tell me I was shortlisted for an award, and I lost before I even knew I was in the running!

    What wonders in the new internet age.

    Congratulations on your victory!

  2. Thanks, J.M. I had no clue what was going on either ’til I got that phone call. When is google going to write an app that will tell us what’s going to be on the internet tomorrow?

    By the way, people, J.M.’s book _Last Dragon_ has gotten fabulous reviews everywhere. I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet. J.M. calls it arty and post-modern, which is right up my alley.

  3. Think of it — a flood of awards! I’ll take an Emmy, an NCAA Championship (doesn’t have to be a premier sport — fencing would be okay), and a Webloes Good Citizenship Merit Badge.

  4. DJ Mom said there was too many “ands and uhs” for an english major. But I, on the contrary, thought it was a great speech. Dad

  5. Pingback: 2009 World Fantasy Awards Nominations » Electric Velocipede

Comments are closed.